Legallais Sailing Team


Follow Legallais Sailing Team


THE 2022 SEASON IS IN FULL SWING!

THE 2022 RACES

1 nm (mille nautique) = 1,852 km

1 000 Milles des Sables – Solo race

09/04 | Departure of the Sables d’Olonne | 1,000 nm

10th | 5 days, 19 hours, 03 minutes

CIC Normandy Channel Race – Double-handed race

– Official partner

09/04 | Departure of the Sables d’Olonne | 1,000 nm

10th | 4 days, 22 hours, 50 minutes and 40 seconds

Drheam Cup – Solo race

17/07 | Departure from Cherbourg | 1,000 nm

12th | 4 days, 7 hours, 44 minutes and 6 seconds

40′ Malouine Lamotte – Crewed race

15/09 | Departure from Saint-Malo | 150 nm

16th | 22 hours and 33 minutes

Route du Rhum – Solo race

06/11 | Departure from Saint-Malo | 3,500 nm

26th | 18 days, 18 hours, 34 minutes and 4 seconds

THE TEAM

Pierre CASENAVE-PÉRÉ
Skipper | Engineer | 23 years old

Born in Caen, Pierre made his first tacks in the Barneville-Carteret harbour, facing the Channel Islands. He was educated in Caen, Paris, and then London, and continued his higher education at Columbia University on the other side of the Atlantic.

In 2019, he took a gap year to train, qualify and participate in the Mini Transat. This solo transatlantic race allowed him to discover the job of skipper and confirm his passion for the open sea.

In 2021, Pierre launches Legallais in ocean racing with the Legallais Sailing Team. After a season of learning and discovering Class40, he finished 8th in the Transat Jacques Vabre and 5th in the championship with his co-skipper Kevin Bloch.

Fabien DELAHAYE
Co-skipper | 37 years old

Born in Rouen on 7 July 1984, Fabien discovered sailing at the age of 9 in Ouistreham, in Normandy. He worked in the dinghy sector until 2008 and then spent 6 seasons on the demanding Figaro2 one-design circuit from 2009 to 2014. In 2013, he also won the Transat Jacques Vabre alongside Sébastien Rogues in a Class40. In 2015, he became a coach and joined Jean-Pierre Dick’s team on the “Saint-Michel Virbac” foil boat IMOCA, responsible of performance. The same year, Fabien took part alongside Jean-Pierre Dick in the Transat Jacques Vabre and then accompanied him to the Vendée Globe.

Fabien then left for 2 years on the mythical Ocean Race (formerly Volvo Ocean Race) with the Dongfeng team, as a sailor and responsible for the performance unit. A race of excellence that he won! In 2019, Fabien returned to the Figaro circuit with his new Figaro3 one-design foil boat. He spent three seasons racing single-handed and achieved podium finishes in the French Elite Championship and 5th and 6th places in the renowned La Solitaire du Figaro race.

Paul GAUCHET
Technical preparer | 21 years old

Originally from the Paris region, Paul was not destined to make sailing his profession. However, he discovered his passion at the age of 7 by following the competitors in the Vendée Globe. Hooked on cartography and their on board messages, he enrolled in sailing courses the following summer.

Paul started competing in 2015 in La Rochelle and joined a maritime high school where he obtained the Captaine 200, a merchant marine certificate. He bought his first Mini 6.50 in 2018 and completely renovated it. During the 2019 season, he met Pierre, as they were both participating in the same races. In 2020, he changed his boat and continued to be involved full time on the Mini circuit until 2021.

Paul joined the Legallais Sailing Team at the start of 2022 as a technical trainer. His role was to carry out the technical monitoring of the boat throughout the year, including the supervision of the winter shipyard, the boat’s optimisation for solo sailing and the logistics before, during and after races.

THE BOAT

TheClass40 rule emerged born in the early 2000s with the aim of filling the gap between the Minis (6.50m boats) and the IMOCAs (18m). The idea was to create a racing machine that was seaworthy enough to cross the Atlantic safely.

It has now become a breeding ground for talent in ocean racing and allows both fine racers and aspiring round-the-world racers to gain solid maritime experience.

The Class40 No. 145 is a Mach 40.3 launched in 2015. As the second boat in the series dominating the races in 2016-2019, it combined performance and reliability. This attractive profile has already allowed him to cross the Atlantic 6 times.

Technical specifications

Overall length: 12.19 m

Midship beam: 4.5 m

Draught: 3 m

Displacement: 4,500 kg

Construction: Glass/Epoxy

THE COMMITTED LEGALLAIS SAILING TEAM

LEGALLAIS’ Class40 will fly the colours of the ACTA VISTA association throughout the year.

support

Since 2002, ACTA VISTA, a major actor in active inclusion through heritage, has been using the restoration of endangered heritage to support and train people in precarious situations, in order to help them regain confidence and build a professional future.

The LEGALLAIS company Foundation will pay to the association €1 per nautical mile of the total distance covered in all the races the Legallais Sailing Team takes part in. Through the 5 races of the 2022 sports program, the LEGALLAIS Foundation will contribute over €6,500 to ACTA VISTA.

Follow the collection 👇

Combining craftsmanship and technology, ocean racing naturally includes many SMEs and ISEs in the construction industry, a world with which it shares many common points, including the need to have good tools to work accurately.

For the past few years, the French enthusiasm for ocean racing has been growing. This is due in particular to the development of state-of-the-art technologies that allow close contact to be kept with sailors taking part in the race through video conferences, videos, photos and regular e-mails.

THE LEGALLAIS SAILING TEAM: 5TH IN THE CLASS40 CHAMPIONSHIP IN 2021

2021 season awards

8th

22 days, 4 hours, 17 minutes and 22 seconds

November

10th

3 days, 11 hours, 25 minutes and 16 seconds

August

6th

14 days, 11 hours, 54 minutes and 18 seconds

June

8th

4 days, 23 hours, 34 minutes and 50 seconds

May

PHOTO GALLERIES

2022

40′ Malouine Lamotte – 2022

Drheam Cup – 2022

CIC Normandy Channel Race – 2022

1000 Milles des Sables – 2022

Shipyard – 2022

2021

Transat Jacques Vabre – 2021

Rolex Fasnet Race – 2021

Les Sables Horta – 2021

CIC Normandy Channel Race – 2021

Launching into the water – 2021

VIDEO GALLERIES

WE’RE IN THE NEWS

2022

2021

Find the LEGALLAIS SAILING TEAM crew on our social networks:

Facebook
Instagram
Linkedin
Youtube

Legallais Team Voile


Suivez Legallais Team Voile


LA SAISON 2022 BAT SON PLEIN !

LES COURSES 2022

1 nm (mille nautique) = 1,852 km

1 000 Milles des Sables – Course en solo

09/04 | Départ des Sables d’Olonne | 1 000 nm

10ème | 5 jours, 19 heures, 03 minutes

CIC Normandy Channel Race – Course en double

– Partenaire officiel

15/05 | Départ de Ouistreham | 1 000 nm

10ème | 4 jours, 22 heures, 50 minutes et 40 secondes

Drheam Cup – Course en solo

17/07 | Départ de Cherbourg | 1 000 nm

12ème | 4 jours, 7 heures, 44 minutes et 6 secondes

40′ Malouine Lamotte – Course en faux solo

15/09 | Départ de Saint-Malo | 180 nm

16ème | 22 heures et 33 minutes

Route du Rhum – Course en solo

06/11 | Départ de Saint-Malo | 3 500 nm

26ème | 18 jours, 18 heures, 34 minutes et 04 secondes

L’ÉQUIPE

Pierre CASENAVE-PÉRÉ
Skipper | Ingénieur | 23 ans

Né à Caen, Pierre tire ses premiers bords dans le havre de Barneville-Carteret, face aux Îles Anglo-Normandes. Scolarisé à Caen, Paris, puis Londres, il poursuit ses études supérieures à Columbia University, de l’autre côté de l’Atlantique.

En 2019, il prend une année de césure pour s’entraîner, se qualifier et participer à la Mini Transat. Cette transatlantique en solitaire lui permet alors de découvrir le métier de skipper et de confirmer sa passion pour le large.

En 2021, Pierre lance Legallais dans la course au large avec la Legallais Team Voile. Après une saison d’apprentissage et de découverte de la Class40, il finit 8ème de la Transat Jacques Vabre et 5ème du championnat avec son coskipper Kevin Bloch.

Diplômé d’un Master en Recherche Opérationnelle, il s’intéresse à l’analyse de données et à la prise de décision.

Fabien DELAHAYE
Co-skipper | 37 ans

Né à Rouen le 7 Juillet 1984, c’est à l’âge de 9 ans que Fabien découvre la voile en Normandie, à Ouistreham. Il s’exerce dans la filière dériveur jusqu’en 2008, puis réalise 6 saisons sur le circuit monotype exigeant du Figaro2 de 2009 à 2014. Il remporte également en 2013 la Transat Jacques Vabre aux côtés de Sébastien Rogues en Class40. En 2015, il devient coach et intègre l’équipe de Jean-Pierre Dick, sur l’IMOCA à foil “Saint-Michel Virbac”, en charge de la performance. La même année, Fabien participe aux côtés de Jean-Pierre Dick à la Transat Jacques Vabre, puis l’accompagne jusqu’au Vendée Globe.

Fabien part ensuite pendant 2 ans sur la mythique The Ocean Race (ex Volvo Ocean Race) avec l’équipe Dongfeng, en tant que navigant et responsable de la cellule performance. Une course d’excellence qu’il remporte ! En 2019, Fabien revient sur le circuit Figaro avec son nouveau monotype Figaro3 à foil. Il réalise trois saisons en solitaire et décroche des podiums sur le championnat de France Elite et des places de 5ème et 6ème sur la réputée La Solitaire du Figaro.

Paul GAUCHET
Préparateur technique | 21 ans

Originaire de la région parisienne, Paul n’était pas destiné à faire de la voile son métier. Pourtant, il se découvre une passion dès l’âge de 7 ans en suivant les concurrents du Vendée Globe. Accro à la cartographie et à leurs messages du bord, il s’inscrit dans des stages de voiles dès l’été suivant.

Paul commence la compétition en 2015 à La Rochelle et intègre un lycée maritime où il obtient le Capitaine 200, brevet de marine marchande. Il achète un premier Mini 6.50 en 2018 et le rénove entièrement. C’est pendant la saison 2019 qu’il rencontre Pierre, tous deux participant aux mêmes courses. En 2020, il change de bateau et continue de s’investir à temps plein sur le circuit Mini jusqu’en 2021.

Paul rejoint la Legallais Team Voile début 2022 en tant que préparateur technique. Son rôle est d’effectuer le suivi technique du bateau tout au long de l’année, avec notamment la supervision du chantier d’hiver, l’optimisation du bateau pour la navigation en solitaire et la logistique avant, pendant et après les courses.

LE BATEAU

La jauge Class40 est née au début des années 2000 avec pour objectif de combler le vide entre les Minis (bateaux de 6.50m) et les IMOCAs (18m). L’idée était de créer un engin de course suffisamment marin pour traverser l’Atlantique en sécurité.

Elle est aujourd’hui devenue un vivier de talents de la course au large et permet à de fins régatiers comme à d’aspirants tourdumondistes de se forger une solide expérience maritime.

Le Class40 n°145 est un Mach 40.3 mis à l’eau en 2015. Deuxième bateau de la série dominant les courses en 2016-2019, il allie performance et fiabilité. Ce profil attractif lui a déjà permis de traverser 6 fois l’Atlantique.

Spécifications techniques

Longueur hors tout : 12.19 m
Maître bau : 4.5 m
Tirant d’eau : 3 m
Déplacement : 4 500 kg
Construction : Verre/Époxy

LA LEGALLAIS TEAM VOILE ENGAGÉE

Le Class40 de LEGALLAIS portera tout au long de l’année les couleurs de l’association ACTA VISTA.

soutient

Depuis 2002, ACTA VISTA, acteur majeur de l’inclusion active par le patrimoine, utilise la restauration du patrimoine en péril, pour accompagner et former des personnes en situation de précarité, afin de les aider à reprendre confiance et se bâtir un avenir professionnel.

La Fondation d’entreprise LEGALLAIS versera à l’association 1 € par mille nautique sur la distance totale parcourue de l’ensemble des courses de la Legallais Team Voile. Au travers des 5 courses du programme sportif 2022, c’est ainsi une contribution de plus de 6 500 € que la Fondation d’entreprise LEGALLAIS versera à ACTA VISTA.

Suivez la collecte 👇

Alliant artisanat et technologie, la course au large rassemble naturellement de nombreuses PME et ETI du bâtiment, monde avec lequel elle partage de nombreux points communs, dont la nécessité d’avoir de bons outils pour travailler précisément.

Depuis quelques années, l’engouement des Français pour la course au large ne cesse de s’accroître. Cela s’explique notamment par le développement des technologies de pointe permettant de garder un contact étroit avec les marins en course au moyen de visioconférences, vidéos, photos et emails réguliers.

LA LEGALLAIS TEAM VOILE : 5ÈME DU CHAMPIONNAT CLASS40 EN 2021

Palmarès saison 2021

8ème

22 jours, 4 heures, 17 minutes et 22 secondes

Novembre

10ème

3 jours, 11 heures, 25 minutes et 16 secondes

Août

6ème

14 jours, 11 heures, 54 minutes et 18 secondes

Juin

8ème

4 jours, 23 heures, 34 minutes et 50 secondes

Mai

GALERIES PHOTOS

2022

40′ Malouine Lamotte – 2022

Drheam Cup – 2022

CIC Normandy Channel Race – 2022

1000 Milles des Sables – 2022

Chantier – 2022

2021

Transat Jacques Vabre – 2021

Rolex Fasnet Race – 2021

Les Sables Horta – 2021

CIC Normandy Channel Race – 2021

Mise à l’eau – 2021

GALERIES VIDÉOS

ON PARLE DE NOUS DANS LA PRESSE

2022

2021

Retrouvez l’équipage LEGALLAIS TEAM VOILE sur nos réseaux sociaux :

Facebook
Instagram
Linkedin
Youtube