Our CSR ambition


Sustainable development, performance leverage

A company operates and is developed in an area to which it has to give its full attention. Whether in terms of employment, business ethics, respect for people and the environment or solidarity initiatives, everything needs to be geared towards balanced and transparent relations.

Aware of this major challenge, LEGALLAIS has been organising its sustainable development approach for years by committing itself to the United Nations Global Compact, to which it has been a signatory since 2009. LEGALLAIS’ Corporate Social Responsibility policy is based on a strong commitment to apply the 10 principles of the Global Compact and to work towards the UN’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals. The company was named ambassador of the Global Compact France Network for Normandy in 2018.

LEGALLAIS’ CSR policy includes protecting the environment, giving consideration to employee health and safety, respecting people without discrimination, fighting corruption and responsible purchasing. The company is also inspired by the recommendations of the ISO 26000 “Corporate Social Responsibility” standard.

LEGALLAIS, the only hardware store to obtain the AFAQ 26000 “confirmed” label to demonstrate the reality of its commitment to sustainable development.

“Our commitments are long-term and are reflected in tangible contributions. Our responsibility is to continue on the path towards a more inclusive society that respects people and the environment. It’s not just about words, it’s about actions! We are proud to include all our employees who work every day for a more responsible company.” Philippe Casenave-Péré – LEGALLAIS’ Chairman

2030 agenda

To ensure its commitment to Sustainable Development, LEGALLAIS has initiated a “2030 agenda for the ecological transition” programme. The aim of this agenda is to prepare the company for the risks associated with climate change and resource depletion over the next 10 years. The company innovates to anticipate the reinforcement of French and European regulations.

The 2030 Agenda is structured around 5 main strategies:

To date, over 90 projects have been completed to meet these strategies.

The circular economy, an integrated challenge

LEGALLAIS is gradually including the principles of the circular economy in its operations. Tangible initiatives are taken in particular to give products a second life to allow them to shed their status as waste: LEGALLAIS resells its used pallets to allow their repair and reuse; telephone and computer equipment is reconditioned through an inclusion project and resold; ink cartridges are cleaned for reuse; suppliers’ packaging is reused in the logistics centre; logistics specialists’ handling gloves are cleaned and reused; the customer service favours product repair rather than replacement.

Responsible purchasing, a strong commitment

Since 2013, the company has been a signatory of the “Responsible Supplier Relations and Purchasing” charter, initiated by the French business ombudsman and the national purchasing council.

To date, 83% of suppliers have also signed the LEGALLAIS “Responsible Supplier” charter, which includes the 10 principles of the United Nations Global Compact.

“Our Purchasing teams are trained and are now experienced in supporting the company’s CSR policy with its supplier partners. The objective is clear: On the one hand, this policy has to be reflected in our requirements, and on the other hand, we need to support and value all those who are also committed.” – Aodren Cosnier, Head of Purchasing and Product Range

LEGALLAIS assesses the sustainable development commitment of its manufacturers and encourages them to obtain certification from recognised third-party organisations: AFAQ 26000, ECOVADIS, ECOCERT, Label Lucie…

The most committed suppliers in terms of corporate social responsibility are often those who offer products that are healthier and more environmentally friendly. These products are identified by the “eco-responsible product” pictogram in the catalogue and referenced in the eco-responsible store of the commercial website.

Since 2007, the company has been rewarding the most committed and innovative suppliers with the yearly LEGALLAIS Supplier Trophy.

A code of conduct to fight corruption

The fight against corruption is included in the company’s corporate social responsibility policy and an ISO 27001 certified (information security) in-house whistle blowing system is also deployed within LEGALLAIS to enable the handling of reports and the protection of whistle blowers.

Notre ambition RSE


Le développement durable, un levier de performances

Une entreprise vit et se développe sur un territoire auquel elle se doit d’apporter toute son attention. Que ce soit en matière d’emploi, d’éthique des affaires, de respect des personnes et de l’environnement, d’actions solidaires, tout doit tendre vers des relations équilibrées et transparentes.

Consciente de cet enjeu majeur, l’entreprise LEGALLAIS a depuis des années organisé sa démarche de développement durable en s’engageant aux côtés du Pacte Mondial des Nations Unies (Global Compact) dont elle est signataire depuis 2009. La politique de Responsabilité Sociétale de LEGALLAIS repose ainsi sur l’engagement fort d’appliquer les 10 principes du Pacte Mondial et d’œuvrer pour les 17 Objectifs de Développement Durable de l’ONU. L’entreprise a été nommée ambassadrice du Réseau France du Pacte Mondial pour la Normandie en 2018.

La politique RSE de LEGALLAIS inclut notamment la protection de l’environnement, la prise en compte de la santé et de la sécurité des salariés, le respect des personnes sans aucune discrimination, la lutte contre la corruption et les achats responsables. L’entreprise s’inspire également des préconisations de la norme ISO 26000 “Responsabilité Sociétale des Entreprises”.

LEGALLAIS, seul quincaillier à obtenir le niveau « confirmé » de labellisation AFAQ 26000 pour démontrer la réalité de son implication pour un développement durable.

“Nos engagements s’inscrivent dans la durée et se traduisent par des contributions concrètes. Notre responsabilité est de poursuivre dans la voie d’une société plus inclusive, respectueuse des personnes et de l’environnement. Il s’agit non seulement de paroles mais d’actes ! Nous sommes fiers d’y associer l’ensemble des salariés qui œuvrent chaque jour pour une entreprise plus responsable. ” Philippe Casenave-Péré – président de LEGALLAIS

Agenda 2030

Pour assurer son engagement Développement Durable, LEGALLAIS a lancé un programme « Agenda 2030 pour la transition écologique ». Cet agenda a pour objectif, pour les 10 ans à venir, de préparer l’entreprise aux risques liés aux changements climatiques et à l’appauvrissement des ressources. L’entreprise innove pour anticiper le renforcement des réglementations françaises et européennes.

L’Agenda 2030 s’articule autour de 5 grandes orientations :

À ce jour, plus de 90 projets permettent de répondre à ces orientations.

L’économie circulaire, un enjeu intégré

Progressivement, LEGALLAIS intègre les principes de l’économie circulaire dans son mode de fonctionnement. Des actions concrètes sont menées notamment pour donner une seconde vie à des produits qui peuvent ainsi sortir du statut de déchets : LEGALLAIS revend ses palettes usagées pour permettre leur réparation et leur réemploi ; les matériels téléphoniques et informatiques sont reconditionnés par un chantier d’insertion et revendus ; les cartouches d’encre sont nettoyées pour être réutilisées ; les emballages des fournisseurs sont réemployés au centre logistique ; les gants de manutention des logisticiens sont nettoyés et réutilisés ; le service SAV privilégie la réparation des produits plutôt que l’échange.

Les achats responsables, un engagement fort

Depuis 2013, l’entreprise est signataire de la charte “Relations fournisseurs et achats responsables”, initiée par la Médiateur des Entreprises et le Conseil National des Achats.

À ce jour, 83 % des fournisseurs se sont également engagés en signant la charte « Fournisseurs prestataires responsables » de LEGALLAIS, qui reprend les 10 principes du Pacte Mondial des Nations Unies.

“Nos équipes Achats sont formées et désormais aguerries pour être les porteurs de la politique RSE de l’entreprise auprès des partenaires fournisseurs. L’objectif est clair : d’une part cette politique doit transparaître dans nos exigences et d’autre part, nous devons accompagner et valoriser tous ceux qui s’engagent eux aussi.” – Aodren Cosnier, directeur des Achats et Offre Produits

LEGALLAIS évalue l’engagement de ses fabricants en matière de développement durable et les encourage à se faire labelliser par des organismes tiers reconnus : AFAQ 26000, ECOVADIS, ECOCERT, Label Lucie…

Les fournisseurs les plus engagés en termes de responsabilité sociétale sont souvent ceux qui proposent des produits plus respectueux de la santé et de l’environnement. Ces produits sont identifiés par le pictogramme “produit éco-responsable” dans le catalogue et référencés dans la boutique éco-responsable du site marchand.

Depuis 2007, l’entreprise récompense les fournisseurs les plus engagés et les plus innovants en leur remettant chaque année le Trophée Fournisseur LEGALLAIS.

Un code de conduite pour lutter contre la corruption

La lutte contre la corruption est intégrée dans la politique de responsabilité sociétale de l’entreprise et un système d’alerte interne, certifié ISO 27001 (sécurité de l’information), est également en place au sein de LEGALLAIS pour permettre le traitement des signalements et la protection des lanceurs d’alerte.